We Will Support Uhuru in 2017, Rift Valley Politicians Assure Ruto

Rift Valley URP leaders have dismissed reports that they will not support President Uhuru Kenyatta in 2017.

The leaders said the few dissenting voices in the region are of individuals who risk losing their popularity ahead of the next general election.

“We want to distance ourselves from recent press reports claiming we will support Ruto as president come the next general election,” said Chesumei MP Elijah Lagat.

“We want to state that we are supporting the re-election of Uhuru and Ruto in the coming general election as president and deputy president in that order.”

The leaders further denied reports that they are opposed to the formation of the Jubilee Alliance Party.

They said all constituent and affiliate Jubilee parties have endorsed and approved JAP’s formation.

They made the remarks during a function presided over by Deputy President William Ruto at Kebulonik secondary school in Nandi County on Wednesday.

“We have resolved to rally behind efforts to bring together all affiliate parties under JAP as our political vehicle ahead of the 2017 general election,’ said Tinderet MP Julius Melly.

Uasin Gishu Governor Jackson Mandago urged the leaders to launch awareness campaigns on the importance of JAP ahead of the poll.

“We must rally behind the leadership of Uhuru and Ruto in chatting the way forward for our people,” he said.

Nandi Governors Cleophas Lagat said the county’s leaders are united in ensuring total support for the Jubilee government.

“We want to assure the Jubilee administration that we are working hard to ensure the success of development projects,” he said.

Ruto said Jubilee will not relent in its efforts to bring all parties together under JAP, for the sake of unity in the country.

The plans are on course, he said, adding that all Kenyans will be united under a strong party.

Saying “we cannot run a nation soaked with alcoholism”, he asked provincial administration police and leaders to ensure illicit brews are eliminated.

The licenses of those engaging in the illegal trade should be revoked, he said.

MPs present included Stephen Sang (Nandi), Benson Mutura (Makadara), James Bett (Kesses), Cornelly Serem (Aldai), Zipporah Kering (Nandi) and Kirwa Bitok (Mosop).