NAIROBI, Vote counting is underway at polling stations across Kenya after voting ended at the 5 pm closing time in Tuesday’s general election in which the electorate voted for their president, members of Parliament, county governors and members of county assemblies.

However, voting continue at polling stations where voters were still queuing by 5pm and in at least 300 polling centres across the country where there were delays cause by logistical challenges resulting from adverse weather conditions. Some of these polling stations included those in Wajir, Eldas, Isiolo, Dadaab, Borabu, and Fafi constituencies which had earlier experienced technical hitches.

There were also delays in distribution of election material in Turkana, Baringo and Samburu counties because of heavy downpours, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chairperson, Wafula Chebukati, told a media briefing Tuesday. Polling centers that opened at 6 am have closed, voters in the queue by 5pm will be allowed to vote, he said.

He added that time would be compensated for polling stations which opened late. Chebukati also assured that security would be provided for the polling stations which would remain open till the night.

Meanwhile, the election observer group, ELOG, said that more than 98 per cent of polling stations permitted observers to participate in the monitoring of polling. Spokesperson Josphine Mong’are told the media that some observers were denied access to polling stations by presiding officers who demanded for oaths of secrecy for observers and stamped IEBC letters.

Lattif shabban from the Muslims Council of Kenya observed that there was late arrival of materials at some polling stations across the country with more cases being reported in Meru County in central Kenya.