Tanui nominates 10 to his Narok cabinet

The Narok Governor, Samuel Tunai has forwarded to the County Assembly 10 nominees to the county Executive committee for vetting.

The names that were read by the County Speaker Nkoidilla Ole Lankas last evening included three women and seven men.

The names, include Morgan Siloma (Finance), Evalyne Cherotich (Agriculture, livestock and fisheries), Nelly Nasieku (Water, Energy and Natural Resources), John Marindany (Health), Philip Tipaa (Education), Olingo Ole Koisambo (Land and Housing), Ezekiel Rono (Public works), Julius Tombo (Administration and Coordination of County government), Cicilia Parpai (Trade, Industry and Cooperative) and Joseph Kantet (Tourism and Wildlife).

Only three members out of the 12 who served in the first county government executive docket retained their seats. The three are Mr. Siloma, Mr. Marindany and Mr. Rono.

Nevertheless, it is not clear why the governor dropped nine members of his last cabinet despite some having been at the front line in his campaigns.

The county assembly is expected to start vetting the nominees from Thursday .

Earlier, Governor Tunai had indicated he would work with professionals who are committed to developing the county regardless of their regional background.

Speaking during a thanks giving service held at Narok Stadium a week after he was inaugurated to start his second and final constitutional term, Tunai noted that he wanted a team that would bring new ideas to build the county.

At the same time, Narok Township Member of County Assembly (MCA) Benard Torome was elected unopposed as the leader of majority while Nominated MCA Rebecca Masikonde was elected his deputy. Ilmotiok MCA, Samuel Kositany was elected unopposed as the Majority whip.

Meanwhile, Kosium Ole Lemut was elected Minority Leader and Vincent Rotich elected to deputise him. The Minority whip is Julius Munka.

Source: Kenya News Agency