Oparanya unveils Cabinet

The Kakamega Governor, Wycliffe Oparanya on Wednesday dropped four members of the County Executive Committee (CEC) as he named the new team.

Those dropped included, Robert Sumbi (Environment and Natural Resources), Mrs. Penina Mukabane (Health Services), Ms. Ebby Kavai (Education) and Kulati Ngia of Agriculture.

The Deputy Governor, Prof. Philip Kutima takes over at the agriculture portfolio, John Wangwe will be in charge of environment, Ms. Rachel Okumu health services while Joseph Obonyo will be at the helm of education.

Sumbi has been redeployed as the Chief of Staff, Mrs. Mukabane Chief Advisor Special Programmes and Gender Affairs, Kulati CEO Microfinance Corporation while Ms. Kavai becomes the CEO Investment and Development Agency.

Apart from the County Executives for Education and Environment, the other new faces include, Geoffrey Nafukho (Finance and Planning), Robert Kundu (Social Services and Youth Affairs), Kassim Were (Trade and Industrialization) and George Lutomia for ICT e-Government and Communication.

The outgoing County Secretary, Beatrice Sabana takes over from Rachel Okumu at the Public Service and Administration while Collins Matemba and Alfred Matianyi have been retained at Roads and Public Works and Lands and Physical Planning respectively.

Oparanya also named 17 Chief Officers and created new positions of Projects Director for County Teaching and Referral Hospital, Director of Delivery Unit as well as advisor Devolved Units and Ombudsman.

Ms. Jacinta Odhiambo is the new County Secretary.

They now await vetting by the County Assembly Committee on appointments.

Source: Kenya News Agency