Nairobi Gubernatorial aspirants cast their votes

Nairobi Governor, Evans Kidero, Senator Mike Mbuvi Sonko and former Gatanga MP, Peter Kenneth who are vying for the Nairobi Gubernatorial seat on Tuesday cast their votes in various polling stations within Nairobi County.

Incumbent Kidero cast his vote at 10.00 am at Pumwani Social Hall in Kamkunji Constituency, Kenneth voted at 11.00am at Bahati Primary School while Sonko voted at 2.45 pm at Bidii Primary school in Makadara Constituency.

Addressing the press after casting his vote, Kenneth expressed his disappointment over the voting process which he termed as slow and causing voters a lot of frustration due to the long hours spent queuing.

Kenneth said it was disheartening to see people who milled at the polling centres as early as 2.30 am queuing for over six hours before voting, and added It is likely most people will not have voted by 5.00pm.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) was not well prepared to handle this election. It is disappointing that in some voting centres the biometric voter registration machine is taking half an hour to identify voters, said Kenneth.

Kenneth who is vying as an Independent candidate, said in his observation, IEBC has not given voters a chance to exercise their rights as they would have wished.

In his sentiments, Sonko who is contesting the seat on a Jubilee ticket appealed to Kenyans not to let the election divide them along tribal lines saying that after the exercise is over life will continue as usual.

I urge Kenyans to have a cordial relationship with their neighbours as life has to continue after elections, said Sonko.

On the voting exercise, Sonko said some of the irregularities detected at Embakasi East and Imara Daima polling centres were resolved when police and IEBC moved with speed to arrest the situation.

IEBC replaced a clerk at Imara Daima polling station who was stamping ballots papers as rejected, added Sonko.

Other aspirants contesting for the Nairobi County Gubernatorial seat are, Francis Mwanga Inganji ( National Agenda Party of Kenya), Macharia Lawrence Kamau ( Party of Democratic Unity), Miguna Miguna ( Independent), Mumo Michael Mutinda ( Agano Party) and Waweru Godfrey Wanyoike (Independent).

Voting in Makadara Constituency had a huge turn out and by the time of going to the press people were still queuing to cast their votes. The voting exercise in most of the centres was calm and peaceful.

Source: Kenya News Agency