Eight water towers identified to be gazetted in Makueni County

The Kenya Water Towers Agency (KWTA) has identified eight areas to be gazetted as water catchment areas in Makueni County.

The sites are Makuli, Mbooni, Nthangu, Kilungu, Mbui Nzau, Yekanga, Nzaui and Makongo hills in the area.

The KWTA Eastern Region Officer, Miriam Mutuku said this in a Consultative Meeting on Gazettement of the Water Towers, chaired by the Makueni County Commissioner (CC), Maalim Mohammed in his boardroom in Wote town.

The areas were identified by a team of stakeholders from the County who visited the sites that deserve to be gazetted as water towers, said Ms Mutuku during the meeting.

The CC said that there is need for public participation in the exercise in order to avoid conflicts in the future, while implementing the programme.

At the same time, Mohammed observed that the process should be fast tracked, while, adding that trees will be planted in the areas identified in order to increase forest cover.

We want the process to be all inclusive, where the Members of Parliament, Members of County Assembly and the community are involved. I don’t think any leader can oppose this noble process of increasing our water towers in the country, posed the County Commissioner.

He disclosed that the government and other agencies have planted over 200,000 seedlings during the heavy rains that have been witnessed across the country.

Speaking at the same meeting, the Makueni County Executive Committee Member for Lands, Joshua Wambua said that even areas that are not gazetted should be preserved.

Any county that is receiving more areas for gazettement is for their own benefit, posed Wambua.

During the meeting, it was agreed that the status of the sites should be established especially on the encroachment by squatters.

Those in attendance included, Kenya Forest Service, National Land Commission, NEMA and security agencies, among other stakeholders.

Source: Kenya News Agency