EA Golf Challenge Cup preparations well on course


Preparations for this year’s East Africa Challenge Cup in Kigali Rwanda from November 17 to 22 are almost complete.

David Nyakang’o of East Africa Golf Confederation, which organises the championship, said yesterday in Nairobi that, so far five countries had confirmed and were about to submit names of their teams in the next few days.

Those countries are hosts Rwanda, defending champions Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania and Ethiopia. However Nyakang’o said no confirmation had been received from Congo DRC while Burundi’s team is reported to be having difficulties in getting travelling documents.

“As of now, I am not very certain about Burundi’s participation though I am still keeping my fingers crossed,’’ said Nyakang’o.


Defending champions Uganda named their final list of eight players ready to defend the title at the now reduced to nine-hole Kigali Golf Club course whose back nine is under re-construction.

The Uganda team will continue with their training until they depart on Monday for Kigali.

Uganda will participate in the Rwanda Open from November 11 to 14.

The team will be captained by Adolf Muhumuza.

Kenya’s final team will be named Wednesday after Tuesday’s 36-hole trial event held at Vet Lab Sports Club to pick two players who will join John Karichu (Limuru), Kenneth Bollo (Royal) Justus Madoya (Great Rift Valley Resort), Anthony Kinuthia (Karen) and Paul Muchangi (Limuru).

These were the top five in the 2015 Golfer Of The Year series after the Kenya Open Amateur Strokeplay Championship held at Thika Greens.

The Kenya Golf Union(KGU) has meanwhile offered the new Strokeplay champion John Kariuki of Limuru a wild card, and Nyali Golf and Country Club’s Agil Is-Haq, a junior who was the nominee by the Junior Golf Foundation.

Also in the list is national team captain Bhavnish Chandaria which means the team will have 10 players from where only eight players may travel to Rwanda.


Meanwhile, at Muthaiga over the weekend, handicap 18 Ilona Guenther carded 36 Stableford points to win the Muthaiga Lady Captain’s prize.

The victory was decided by a count back with Susan Kanyora. Ilona earned 16 points on the first nine and a strong 20 points on the back nine. Playing off 10, Susan Kanyora registered 19 points on the first nine and 17 points on the back nine and had the satisfaction of winning the silver category.