Buhari forms 36-member cabinet, at last


Six months after Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari’s assumed office, 36 cabinet ministers have been sworn into office.

Last Tuesday, Buhari sacked 17 permanent secretaries and appointed 18 others.

The swearing-in of the ministers and the deployment of permanent secretaries completed the constitution of the government.

The ministers were picked from the 36 states as the Constitution dictates.

The President had earlier said that not all ministers would have portfolios as the number had been reduced to 25.


The ministers went for a retreat last week where the president warned them against engaging in corruption.

President Buhari also appointed 18 permanent secretaries to fill vacancies created with the compulsory retirements in the federal civil service.

The permanent secretaries were assigned to ministries and cabinet offices and directed to start work immediately.

The position of permanent secretary is the highest in the civil service hierarchy and the holder wields enormous power.

The posting of the civil servants confirmed speculation that Mr Buhari’s government would be smaller than past ones, as a cost-saving measure.

President Buhari scrapped ministries of police affairs, aviation and special duties while those of works, housing and urban development were merged.