Boost for bid to oust Devolution CS Waiguru


The Motion to impeach Devolution Cabinet Secretary Anne Waiguru acquired a new life Tuesday, after its mover, Nandi Hills MP Alfred Keter, got the required support.

However, the backing of the 88 MPs required for the Motion to be considered by the National Assembly is mostly from the Opposition.

MPs from President Uhuru Kenyatta and Deputy William Ruto’s parties, who have personally urged their troops not to support the ouster bid, kept away.

It also emerged that 13 MPs who withdrew their support for the Motion were from Mr Ruto’s outfit, the United Republican Party (URP), while more lawmakers from ODM appeared to have thrown their weight behind the move.

The list of the 88 MPs Mr Keter circulated yesterday indicating they had thrown their support behind the bid to oust Ms Waiguru, only has two names from Jubilee — Mr Mithika Linturi (Igembe South, The National Alliance), Mr Wesley Korir (Cherengany, URP) and Mr Keter himself.

Among those listed as having withdrawn their support are seven lawmakers from ODM and six from URP. This, however, does not deny the Motion the required threshold.