Board clears six candidates to run for presidency in FKF polls


Six candidates have been cleared to run for the presidency in the forthcoming Football Kenya Federation (FKF) elections.

Wednesday’s process clears the way for the week-long FKF polls that start in the first week of December.

Five of the aspirants gunning for the top seat – including incumbent Sam Nyamweya and Gor Mahia chairman Ambrose Rachier – were formally cleared hours to the end of a two-day nomination exercise which was supervised by FKF’s electoral board.

The duo will be joined on the ballot paper by youthful entrepreneur cum football administrator Nick Mwendwa who was among the first to be handed his nomination certificate on Tuesday.


Others are former Kenya international Sammy Shollei and Nairobi businessman Ssemi Aina. Both got clearance after two attempts. Former National Youth fund boss Evans Gor Ssemalang’o was also cleared to run. Four other candidates who had earlier expressed interest in the top seat – Patrick Naggi, Major John Waluke, Tom Alila and Ken Oliech – failed to present their nomination papers. Officials of FKF’s electoral board, led by chairman Prof Edwin Wamukoya, oversaw the exercise.

Meanwhile, FKF’s deputy president Robert Asembo, Doris Petra, Dan Shikanda, Hussein Terry and Twaha Mbarak were also cleared to run for the deputy presidency. Hundreds of others, including Nick Mukolwe, Angeline Mwikali, match commissar Hassan Omar, Charles Birundi, Dennis Munyendo, Simon Mugo, Ricky Solomon and Michael Ouma are seeking eight National Executive Committee slots in the polls.

The process of electing the FKF branch and sub branch officials will begin on December 7, from where at least 40 of the 78 delegates will elect national officials on December 14.