19 parastatal managers lined up for charges over graft claims


At least 19 senior parastatal managers, including the managing directors of Geothermal Development Company (GDC) and National Water Conservation and Pipeline Corporation, have been arrested over corruption claims.

They are expected to be charged in court today.

However, the Ethics and Anti-Corruption (EACC) is yet to arrest seven other suspects, including Isiolo Governor Godana Doyo.

The EACC said Mr Doyo went into hiding after the Director of Public Prosecutions gave consent that he should be charged.

The governor is being sought for irregular passage of the Supplementary Appropriation Act, 2014 on the December 11 last year.

The GDC boss Silas Masinde Simiyu and eight other senior officials will be charged today for irregular procurement of Rig Movers from Bonfide Clearing & Forwarding Limited in the Financial Year 2012/2013.

Mr Simiyu was arrested together with company secretary Praxidis Namoni Saisi, and the general manager, Drilling Operations, Michael Mbevi.

Six tender committee members were also arrested. They are Mr Abraham Kipchirchir Saat, Mr Godwin Mwangae Mwawongo, Mr Nicholas Karume Weke, Mr Caleb Indiatsi Weke, Mr Bruno Mugambi Linyiru and Mr Peter Ayodo Omenda. They were all released on a cash bail of Sh100, 000 each and are expected to appear in Milimani court.

Also arrested was suspended Kenya Pipeline Corporation (KPC) managing director Charles Tanui. Mr TAnui was seized alongside Mr Elias Maina Karumi (chief technical manager), Mr Josphat Kipkoech Sirma (Chief Engineer, Instrumentation and Control) and Mr Ngatia Ndungu who is the Director of Redline Ltd.

They will be charged with irregular payment of Sh30 million to Redline by KPC through their account at Commercial Bank of Africa for the supply, installation and commissioning of three autotransformers procured from French company, Agecelec Industry.

National Water Conservation and Pipeline Corporation managing director Evans Ngubuini was also arrested together with three members of the procurement oversight committee, Mr George Sar, Mr Mustafa Aman and Mr James Bundi.

The tender committee members, Mr Justus Wabuyabo and Mr John Musyoka were also arrested. They are expected to be charged at Milimani court on Wednesday.

However, the detectives were still looking for six other tender committee members; Dunvcan Talam, Margaret Kithunzi, Misiega Asava, Wilfred Munyiri, John Kipkorir, and Hezekiah Kipkiai, who had by yesterday evening not been arrested.